MINUTES OF FACULTY SENATE

January 25, 20005 303 Education Building 12:30 PM

Senate President Allen Colebank called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m. in Room 303 in the Education, Health Careers, and Family and Consumer Sciences Building. The following members were present:

Allen, Berryhill, S. Bond, Baur, Bradley, Burgher, Cable, Colebank, Hansen, Harvey, Jones, Kelley, Tacy for Kiefer, Kirk, Mazure, Moore, Patterson, Poland, Richardson, Riesen, Savage, Schaupp, Sprowls, J. Young for White, Wilson, and Young.

The December 14, 2004 minutes were approved as presented.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Connie Moore announced that the Higher Education sub-committee has recommended to the Education Committee that higher education faculty be included to receive the annual experience increment (AEI). Senator Unger stated that higher education faculty need to be more active. He requested that a directory be developed listing faculty and their areas of expertise.

OLD BUSINESS

Motion by Jeff Poland to approve Curriculum Proposal 2004-05-03 for second reading, seconded by Sharon Bond. Motion by Moore to waive secret ballot, seconded by Sue Kelley. Motion carried. Motion to approve Curriculum Proposal 2004-05-03 for second reading carried.

Karl Burgher presented the Policy Regarding Administrators' Requirement and/or Eligibility, for Teaching and/or Scholarly Activity to the Senate for comment. The following change in wording of the last sentence of the Policy was adjusted to read: "scholarly activity shall be reviewed and *approved* by the Chair...

NEW BUSINESS

Motion by Rick Harvey to approve the Committee on Committees, seconded by Kelley. Motion carried. The following faculty members were selected to serve on the Committee on Committees: Bob Mild, Craig White, Fran Young, Bob Weaver, and Steve Haynes.

Meeting adjourned 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Crislip-Tacy for

Kristi A. Kiefer

Faculty Senate Secretary