Hall of Fame class announced

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

The Fairmont State University Department of Athletics and the Fairmont State Athletic Association are pleased to welcome six new members to the Fairmont State Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday, October 19, as a part of Homecoming Weekend.

The Class of 2018 includes: Dewey McDonald (football), Robert Moore (men's basketball), Gary Moyer (football/wrestling), Kathryn Saurborn (women's swimming), Kaitlin Snyder (women's basketball), and Matej Tomas (men's swimming).
The ceremony will begin at 5 p.m. on Friday, October 19 in Gym 1 of the Falcon Center. Tickets can be purchased for $50 per person by calling the Athletic Department at (304) 367-4220.
The Fairmont State Athletic Association (formerly the Lettermen's Association) is a group designed to unite alumni, lettermen, friends, fans and corporate sponsors to help support the competitive success of Fairmont State Athletics.
Dewey McDonald (Football, 2009-12)
Dewey McDonald, a three-year standout for the Fairmont State football team, was a two-time honorable mention All-American and first team All-WVIAC standout from his safety position. McDonald racked up 170 total tackles (109 solo), nine interceptions, 19 pass breakups, four forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries during his career. McDonald still holds the Fairmont State record for career interception return yards with 317. As a freshman, McDonald returned five interceptions for 161 yards, which established a new single-season record for interception return yards (was broken in 2010).
Following his collegiate career, McDonald was signed as an undrafted free agent by the Indianapolis Colts and has been in the National Football League since 2014. McDonald played for the Colts from 2014-15 and the Seattle Seahawks from 2016-17. He also spent part of the 2015 season with the Oakland Raiders and New England Patriots.
McDonald also earned CoSIDA Academic All-America honors in 2011.
Robert Moore (Men's Basketball, 1992-96)
Robert Moore, a two-time first team All-WVIAC selection, ranks 11th in school history in scoring with 1,861 points while wearing the maroon & white. Moore holds two of the top 20 single-season scoring averages in school history, as the standout averaged 20.3 points in 1991-92 and 23.4 points in 1993-94. Moore also ranks fourth in school history in career field goal percentage (.613), and sixth in both career steals (149) and made free throws (455).
Moore helped Fairmont State to the semifinal round of the WVIAC Tournament in 1994 and helped the Falcons record a 24-5 record and an NCAA East Regional bid in 1996 as a senior.
Gary Moyer (Football, Wrestling, 1959-63)
Gary Moyer, a multi-sport standout at Fairmont State from 1959-63, became the first-ever Jasper H. Colebank Award winner following his senior season in 1963. Moyer was a first team All-MEC selection at offensive guard in 1962 as a member of the football team. As a standout on the Fairmont State wrestling team, Moyer finished as NAIA runner-up in 1962 and placed fourth in the country in 1963 as a senior. Moyer was also a member of the Fairmont State track team.
Kathryn Saurborn (Women's Swimming, 2009-13)
Kathryn Saurborn was a five-time NCAA Division II All-American as a member of the Fairmont State women's swim team from 2009-13. Saurborn capped her career by earning All-America honors three times as a senior, including a third place finish in the 50 freestyle – the top finish for a Fairmont State female swimmer at the NCAA championships. Saurborn also took seventh in the 100 butterfly and 10th in the 100 freestyle as a senior.
Saurborn also garnered conference swimmer of the year and earned All-America honors in the 50 and 100 freestyle events as a junior. She currently holds the school record in the 50 free, 100 free and 100 butterfly events.
Kaitlin Snyder (Women's Basketball, 2009-13)
Kaitlin Snyder wrapped up the most decorated career by a Fairmont State women's basketball player by leading the Falcons to the 2013 WVIAC Tournament Championship and a berth in the NCAA Division II Atlantic Regional. The three-time first team all-conference selection also wrapped up her storied career with a program record 2,056 points.
Snyder earned WVIAC and Atlantic Region Player of the Year honors on her way to second team All-America accolades as a junior. She also added to her award winning junior season by garnering CoSIDA Academic All-America honors. As a senior, Snyder was a first team all-conference and all-region selection and was named the WVIAC Tournament MVP. Snyder was a member of two conference championship teams at Fairmont State (2009-10, 2012-13).
In addition to holding the program record for career points, Snyder is also second all-time in steals (288), third in made field goals (720), and fourth in scoring average (17.1), 3-point field goals made (226), free throw percentage (.785) and assists (464). Snyder was the 2013 recipient of the Jasper H. Colebank Award.
Matej Tomas (Men's Swimming, 2003-07)
Matej Tomas, a four-year member of the Fairmont State men's swim team, was a 12-time All-American and the 2007 recipient of both the Jasper H. Colebank and Eston K. Feaster Awards. Tomas also garnered CoSIDA Academic All-America honors three times and was a two-time WVIAC and three-time Bluegrass Mountain Conference Swimmer of the Year during his career.
Among his top finishes during his career was a second place finish in the 200 butterfly at the 2007 NCAA Championships and a third place finish in the 200 backstroke at the 2006 NCAA Championships. Tomas wrapped up his career with six school records and 10 Feaster Center Pool records. Tomas still holds three program records.
Following graduation, Tomas was a NCAA post-graduate scholarship recipient.