

FAIRMONT STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF GOVERNORS MEETING MINUTES SEPTEMBER 15, 2022 WEBEX MEETING

I. CALL TO ORDER

A. Roll Call

Vice Chair David Goldberg convened the Fairmont State University Board of Governors meeting on September 15, 2022, beginning at approximately 9:00 a.m. via WebEx.

Vice Chair Goldberg thanked Serena Scully for her work over the past several years with the Board of Governors and thanked Emily Swain for her assistance in the current role.

Note: With this meeting being conducted via WebEx, there was no way to ascertain all other participants but the following Fairmont State Board of Governors members and Fairmont State University administrators, staff, and faculty participating via WebEx included:

At the request of Vice Chair Goldberg, Emily Swain, Executive Assistant to the Interim President and Board of Governors, conducted a roll call of the Board of Governors. Present for the meeting were board members Jon Dodds, Dr. Gina Fantasia, David Goldberg, Jason Henderson, Jennifer Kinty, Kevin Rogers, Jay Puccio, Eli Dozer, Wendy Adkins, Jason Pizatella and Deborah Prezioso. Absent was Rusty Hutson.

Others present were Interim President Dr. Dianna Phillips and Interim President's Executive Leadership Team members Greg Bamberger, Ken Fettig, Ashely Maxey, and Christa Kwiatkowski. Others present included Alicia Kalka, AVP of Enrollment and Housing; Jessica Sharps, Sr. Director of University Relations; Hannah Mersing, Assistant Director of Communication; Abigail Long, Marketing and Communications Coordinator; Donna Trickett, Accounting Assistant II; John Devault, Assistant Vice President for Educational and Career Services; Renee Allison, Director of Operations & Advancement Services for Fairmont State Foundation; Marissa Mauro, Director of Donor & Board Relations for Fairmont State Foundation; and members of the local media.

B. Approval of Agenda

Dr. Gina Fantasia made a motion to approve the agenda. Debbie Prezioso seconded. The motion passed.

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF AUGUST 18, 2022

Jason Henderson made a motion to approve the August 18, 2022 meeting minutes. Dr. Gina Fantasia seconded. The motion passed.

III. BYLAWS COMMITTEE (Deborah Prezioso, Chair)

Deborah Prezioso, Chair of the Bylaws Committee, advise that the Bylaws Committee met on September 7, 2022 and discussed the repeal of Policy 8, "Social Justice". The information covered in the policy (discrimination and harassment) are now covered in separate policies. The repeal will reduce redundancy in policy.

Deborah Prezioso moved that the Board take the following action:

Repeal of Policy 8, "Social Justice"

Jon Dodds seconded. The motion passed.

IV. NEW BUSINESS

A. Approval of Presidential Search Committee Members

Jennifer Kinty, Tri-Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, reported the chairs met on August 11, 2022 and discussed the make-up of committee. The chairs provided a committee framework made up of the following, to ensure broad experience of members:

- a. Three Board of Governors Representatives
- b. Three Faculty Representatives
- c. Two Staff Representatives
- d. Two Student Representatives
- e. Two Fairmont State Foundation Representatives
- f. One Fairmont State Alumni Association Representative
- g. One Local Government Representative
- h. One Local Business Community Representative

Ms. Kinty presented the following slate of nominees for consideration:

Fairmont State University Board of Governors: Rusty Hutson

Fairmont State University Board of Governors: Jennifer Kinty

Fairmont State University Board of Governors: Kevin Rogers

Fairmont State University Faculty: Charles Shields

Fairmont State University Faculty: Raymond Alvarez

Fairmont State University Faculty: Melissa Eades

Fairmont State University Staff: Donna Trickett

Fairmont State University Staff: Holly Fluharty

Fairmont State University Students: Ally Quigley

Fairmont State University Students: Mercedes Goff

Fairmont State University Foundation: Kevin Wilfong

Fairmont State University Foundation: Rae Ann Dyer

Fairmont State University Alumni Association: Porter Stiles

Local Government representative: Kris Cinalli

Local Business Community: Tina Shaw

Dr. Gina Fantasia moved that the Board take the following action:

Approve the recommended slate of nominees to serve on the Presidential Search Committee. Jason Pizatella seconded the motion.

Vice Chair Goldberg asked if there was any discussion on the motion. Jon Dodds requested clarification on why faculty were represented by three committee members and staff represented by two committee members. Jennifer Kinty advised the trichairs tried to make the search committee so that all voices would be heard. Mr. Dodds further asked if all nominees are willing and available to serve on the committee. Vice Chair Goldberg advised that the Board of Governors first had to approve the slate of nominees, then they will be invited to engage in the process.

Ms. Kinty advised the tri-chairs will review the RFP responses and provide recommendations and cost analysis review the committee. Vice Chair Goldberg advised the firm recommended by the tri-chairs, in conjunction the institutional RFP policy and Procurement staff, will need approval from the Board of Governors before formalizing an agreement.

The motion passed with Jon Dodds opposed.

Vice Chairman Goldberg advised all external communications related to the Presidential Search Committee will go through University Relations and Marketing. Board members should pass along questions related to the presidential search process to Chairman Hutson and the tri-chairs.

V. Possible Executive Session

No motion was made to enter into Executive Session.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Gina Fantasia made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Debbie Prezioso seconded. The motion passed.

141124

09-22-2022

FSU Board of Governors' Chair

Rusty Hutson

Date

FSU Board of Governors' Secretary

Jason Pizatella

Date