Fairmont State University BOARD OF GOVERNORS MINUTES

February 12, 2009

1. Call to Order

A meeting of the Fairmont State University Board of Governors was held on February 12, 2009 beginning at 1:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Falcon Center. Present at the meeting were Board Members: Jeffery Barr, Janet Crescenzi, Galen Hansen, James Kettering, Andy Kniceley, Rocco Muriale, Mark Pallotta, Skip Tarasuk, Donna Trickett and Ron Tucker. Those Board members not in attendance were: Bob Kittle and Shirley Stanton. Also in attendance were: FSU Interim President Charles J. McClain, President Blair Montgomery, Michael Belmear, Dale Bradley, Jim Decker, Sarah Hensley, Phil Mason, Rick Porto and Maria Rose.

2. Special Welcome

The Chairman recognized the return of BOG member Janet Crescenzi and Harriet Bower, President of Classified Staff Council, who have been out for health reasons. Jeffery Barr was introduced as the new Student Board Member.

3. Approval of Minutes

Skip Tarasuk moved the minutes of December 11, 2008 meeting be approved. Rocco Muriale seconded. Motion carried.

4. Operation Reports

- 1) Chuck Shields reported for Faculty Senate
- 2) Harriet Bower reported for Classified Staff Council
- 3) Kelley Bronson reported for Student Government
- 4) Jean Ahwesh reported for Foundation
- 5) Devanna Corley reported for Alumni Association
- 6) Rusty Elliott reported for Athletic Association
- 7) Charles J. McClain gave the President's Report
- 8) Andy Kniceley gave the Chairman's Report

5. Committee of the Whole

No action items were presented.

6. Executive Session

Rocco Muriale moved pursuant to 6-9A-4(b)9 of the WV Code that the Board shall go into Executive Session to consider matters involving or affecting the purchase, sale or lease of property, advance construction planning, the investment of public funds or other matters involving commercial competition, which if made public, might adversely affect the financial or other interest of the state or any political subdivision. Ron Tucker seconded. Motion carried.

7. Return from Executive Session

Galen Hansen moved we return to regular session. Skip Tarasuk seconded. Motion carried.

There being no further business, Rocco Muriale moved the meeting be adjourned. Ron Tucker seconded. Motion carried.

Chairman

Chy Kniceley